Our Facebook Page

Regent Cinema
Spruce Gardens

Lauriston School Support has won the 2018 Supreme Award at Ashburton’s greatest annual celebration of volunteers, the Trustpower Community Awards.

Voluntary groups from Ashburton Timaru and Waitaki gathered with representatives from Trustpower, Ashburton, Timaru and Waitaki District Council and the community at the Ashburton Trust Events Centre to hear how 15 groups and three young people are making an impact in their community.

Trustpower Community and Communications Advisor Ashleigh Cleaver says Lauriston School Support were a top choice due to unyielding efforts to provide the best educational experience for students at Lauriston.

“When school pools were being shut down due to a lack of funding, the Lauriston Community identified swim education as being important and that the LSS would do whatever was necessary for the school pool to remain functioning”

“Through massive funding of the group, and approaching local businesses and the community with partnership opportunities they had the funds required to push ahead”

“Not only this, but the group have funnelled loads of other funds they’ve raised into the school supporting the costs for outdoor education and camps for the whole school, educational toys and modern learning environment furniture for classrooms, technology such as IPad and computers, play-ground repairs and the running of the school swimming pool”

In attendance for winning the Supreme Award, Lauriston School Support received a framed certificate, a trophy, and $2,000 prize money. 

The group will go on to represent Ashburton at the 2018 Trustpower National Community Awards, when volunteers from 26 regions from around New Zealand gather in Tauranga next March. 

It’s the first time Ashburton, Timaru and Waitaki have celebrated together at a single awards function and the venue location will alternate between the three regions each year. 

Other winners at tonight’s Trustpower Community Awards for Ashburton, Timaru and Waitaki were:

Youth Community Spirit

Finalist – Summer Anderson

Finalist – Ben Hargraves

Finalist- Laura Seyb

Winner Ashburton – Rosie Smith

Winner Timaru – Blake Steel

Winner Waitaki – Georgia Vickers

Trustpower Community Awards Finalists

Hospice Mid Canterbury Trust

Mid Canterbury Youth Charitable Trust

Mt Hutt Ski Area & Methven Lions

House of Breakthrough Oamaru

The Friends of Ashburton Hospital & Turangi Home

SeniorNet South Canterbury

Geraldine Ukulele
South Canterbury Roller Sports Club

Forest & Bird – Waitaki Branch

House of Breakthrough Oamaru

North Otago Riding for the Disabled

SeniorNet South Canterbury

Trustpower Community Awards Recipients

Age Concern Ashburton

Aoraki Migrant Centre

Special Olympics North Otago


Heart Kids South Canterbury

Lions Club of Ashburton

Vanished World

South Canterbury Indian Cultural Society
Waitaki Community Gardens

Lions Club of Ashburton County

Timaru Blind Foundation Community Committee

Waitaki Resource Recovery Trust

Supreme Winner – Ashburton

Lauriston School Support

Supreme Winner – Timaru

Alzheimer’s South Canterbury

Supreme Winner – Waitaki

The Whalan Lodge Trust


If you would like a photo of any of the award winners please email This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it  

< Prev   Next >
Health Jobs 2
Copyright: 2007 Ashburtononline.co.nz : Powered by The West Wing