Advance voting
14 September 2017 - There has been a steady stream of people casting their vote in the General Election at Ashburton's advance voting place.
The Bradford Room at the Ashburton Trust Event Centre has been transformed into a voting place for the next eight days.
Advance voting began on Monday and will continue up until next Friday, September 22.
The Ashburton advance voting place will be open tomorrow, Friday and next Monday and Tuesday, September 18 and 19 from 9am until 5pm.
It will open on Saturday from 10am until 3pm.
Next Wednesday, September 20 it will open from 9am until 6pm, on Thursday, from 9am until 8pm and on Friday from 9am until 5pm.
People can cast an ordinary vote for the Selwyn or Rangitata electorate or a special vote for any other electorate at the Ashburton advance polling place.
There is also an advance voting place at the Methven Heritage Centre which will be open today, Thursday, from 10am until 3pm and next Thursday and Friday, September 21 and 22 from 10am until 4pm.
For voters in the Selwyn electorate who wish to cast an advanced vote, they can do so at the Pendarves Hall on Sunday, September 17 from 10am until 1pm.
The Geraldine Library and Service Centre is also a place where advance votes can be cast. It will open today, Thursday, from 11am until 2pm, on Monday, September 18 from 10am until 2pm and on Thursday, September 21 from 10am until 2pm.
People can enrol, and check or update their enrolment details at any advance voting place and can then cast a vote.
Other advance voting places can be found at
On election day, Saturday, September 23, all voting places will be open from 9am until 7pm.
In the Ashburton District voting can be done at Alford Forest Hall, Allenton School, Ashburton Intermediate School, Hampstead School, New Life Church, Sinclair Centre, Tinwald Hall, Walnut Avenue pavilion, Carew Peel Forest School, Fairton School, Hinds School, Lagmhor School, Lowcliffe Hall, Mayfield School, Mount Hutt College, Mt Somers Springburn School, Rakaia Community Centre, Wakanui School, Willowby Hall, Winchmore
Hall, Chertsey School, Dorie School and Lauriston School.
In Geraldine there will be voting places at the Geraldine High School and the Geraldine Primary School. The Peel Forest Hall will also have voting facilities.
The first EasyVote packs have started to arrive in voters' letter boxes, with 3.16 million to be delivered over the next week.  EasyVote packs are being sent to all voters who were enrolled before August 23 and include a personalised EasyVote card which makes voting quicker.


Read more local news at The Ashburton Courier

Joomla SEF URLs by Artio